Toward a Concrete Utopia: Architecture in Yugoslavia, 1948-1980

Martino Stierli, Vladimir Kulic
книга Toward a Concrete Utopia: Architecture in Yugoslavia, 1948-1980, автор: Martino Stierli, Vladimir Kulic

Toward a Concrete Utopia: Architecture in Yugoslavia, 1948-1980

Martino Stierli, Vladimir Kulic
Ціна: 2500 грн
Доступно на замовлення
ID: 15991
Видавництво: Museum of Modern Art
Палітурка: Hardcover, 24.5 x 30.5 cm
Кількість сторінок: 228
Рік видання: 2018
Мова: English
ISBN-13: 9781633450516

In Yugoslavia’s “Third Way” architecture, Brutalism meets the fantastical

Squeezed between the two rival Cold War blocs, Yugoslav architecture consistently adhered to a modernist trajectory. As a founding nation of the Non-Aligned Movement, Yugoslavia became a major exporter of modernist architecture to Africa and the Middle East in a postcolonial world. By merging a variety of local traditions and contemporary international influences in the context of a unique Yugoslav brand of socialism, often described as the “Third Way,” local architects produced a veritable “parallel universe” of modern architecture during the 45 years of the country’s existence. This remarkable body of work has sparked recurrent international interest, yet a rigorous interpretative study never materialized in the United States until now.

Published in conjunction with a major exhibition on the architectural production of Yugoslavia between 1948 and 1980, this is the first publication to showcase an understudied but important body of modernist architecture. Featuring new scholarship and previously unpublished archival materials, this richly illustrated publication sheds light on key ideological concepts of Yugoslav architecture, urbanism and society by delving into the exceptional projects and key figures of the era, among them Bogdan Bogdanovic, Zoran Bojovic, Drago Galic, Janko Konstantinov, Georgi Konstantinovski, Niko Kralj, Boris Magaš, Juraj Neidhardt, Jože Plecnik, Svetlana Kana Radevic, Edvard Ravnikar, Vjenceslav Richter, Milica Šteric, Ivan Štraus and Zlatko Ugljen.